How Awareness and Kindness Change The World

An international flight is an experience many people don't get to have; it’s a luxury for the average person. However, the reality on the plane is much different. While the destination seems appealing, frustration often sets in during the journey. If you let your thinking mind take over, it can lead to a feeling of discontent. This mirrors many aspects of life: we desire the result, not the effort it takes to get there. People often distract themselves with movies and books to escape this reality. That doesn’t mean these distractions are bad; it’s just how we cope. Personally, I write and listen to music, even though some argue that you can't be creative while doing so. Ultimately, treat the process in a way that suits you.

During my flight home, I read “The Wisdom of Insecurity” by Alan Watts—an amazing book that I recommend reading twice to gain different perspectives. Watts teaches about the present moment in ways that are difficult to articulate, and that’s the point. The essence of the present is simply being present. When you think, “I’m happy,” you’re no longer aware of that happiness. True awareness is just being. For instance, at the peak of an orgasm, you don’t think, “I’m having an orgasm.” That’s an example of pure presence. Yet, when faced with problems or impending pain, we often try to think our way out of it. Running from discomfort is like trying to kiss your own lips—impossible and maddening.

I feel compassion for those who are unaware of these insights. Still, I understand that everything unfolds as it should. I share my thoughts to contribute positively to the world. We need more of that. Many people act for the greater good and are rewarded in various ways, but genuine kindness should not be motivated by the desire for reward.

While on this flight, I also watched the movie "Knives Out," which I found amazing. I’ve always admired Daniel Craig and my appreciation for Ana de Armas deepened. The film conveys a profound message, especially in one of the last lines, where Craig tells de Armas that she won because she played her own game, not someone else's. Her game was kindness, stemming from her genuine heart. This is a lesson for us all: try playing the game of kindness. Throughout the movie, she faces numerous challenges, but she never stops being kind, and that’s how she ultimately wins. So, give it a try.